fbpx

Doing it For Love Blog Tour
Welcome to the blog tour for Doing it for Love, the first book in the contemporary romantic comedy series, All About Love, by Cassie Mae. See below for my review, information on the books, buy links, and details on her giveaway.

Doing It for Love (All About Love #1) by Cassie Mae

Doing It for Love (All About Love #1) by Cassie Mae

Synopsis
Cassie Mae’s charming, sexy new novel, perfect for fans of Emma Chase, puts a steamy twist on modern love as one bride-to-be tries to put the spark back in the bedroom—by any means necessary.

Elizabeth Fanning’s life looks pretty perfect, judging by the diamond ring on her finger. Her fiancé, Landon, is sweet, handsome, and hilarious. The trouble is, before they’ve even tied the knot, their sex life has gone from mind-blowing to “meh”—and Liz isn’t ready to be part of an old married couple. After a cathartic call to her best friend, Liz comes up with a brilliant idea. She and Landon may never be able to re-create the magic of their first time, but how amazing would their wedding night be if everything below the neck was off-limits until then?

Liz thinks it’ll bring them closer together. Landon’s convinced she’ll cave first. So they raise the stakes: Whoever lasts longer gets to pick their honeymoon destination. With her heart set on the Bahamas and Landon fighting for snowbound Utah, Liz simply has to win. But pretty soon, her body is screaming for attention, and Landon’s never seemed so far away. Has Liz’s experiment backfired? Losing their little competition would be frustrating—but the one thing she can’t afford to lose is him.

——————————————————–

My Review
I adore Cassie Mae’s writing. She creates such fun, relatable characters with wit and wisdom, and Doing it for Love is no exception. I immediately loved Liz and Landon and could relate to their bet. Every bride wants her wedding night to be special, especially if she’s been living with her husband-to-be. Watching them try to break the other, nearly succumbing to temptation, was hilarious, and the moments with Landon’s family were laugh-out-loud funny. There were so many great scenes — from Liz’s compensating for lack of sex by overindulging on chocolate and not fitting into “the” wedding dress, to Landon’s best friend raiding their refrigerator for things to be used as special effects in Landon’s zombie comedy film.

Plot
On the surface it’s about who is going to cave first, Liz or Landon, with the prize being either a tropical honeymoon or one spent in frigid Utah for the Sundance Film Festival. But in reality, it was more of a character-driven story, and that’s fine because the characters are outstanding. What was missing for me, though, was a deeper level of conflict. The love between Liz and Landon is unique and I can understand the author didn’t want to totally rock that boat, but when I read the the blurb, I expected more…fireworks or something. At no point did I ever believe that Liz was going to lose Landon.

Characters
Every character in this story shines. Liz and Landon are so well-developed, they felt real, like the kind of people I’d totally want to hang out with. Liz’s best friend, Theresa, is equally interesting, and I’m hoping we get her story next! Landon’s parents and sister are fun and completely well-rounded, and believably flawed. The rest of the cast feels as if they truly exist outside the story and aren’t just there to serve a purpose, and that is the mark of brilliant characters.

Top Five Things I Love About  Doing it for Love
1. Liz and Landon. Their relationship comes across as so authentic and real, I never doubted these two belonged together.

2. The bet. I love that they tried to see who could go longer without sex, like Seinfeld’s “The Contest” taken to its extreme! So many great moments came out of this.

3. Zombie comedy. The movie is only a minor subplot, but I learned enough about it to know I’d go see it in a heartbeat if it was real.

4. Landon’s parents. They are the in-laws you love to hate.

5. The ending. It’s everything I’d hoped it’d be and more.

Bottom Line
Doing it For Love is a wonderfully funny, engaging contemporary romance with infinitely likeable characters.

Disclaimer
I was given a copy of this book by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

——————————————————–

Title: Doing it For Love
Series: All About Love #1
Author: Cassie Mae
Publisher: Random House/Loveswept
Pages: 287
Category: Contemporary Romantic Comedy/Chick Lit
Rating: 4 out of 5 Stars
LinksGoodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iBooks | Kobo

——————————————————–

Author Cassie Mae

Author Cassie Mae

About the Author
Cassie Mae (who dawns the name Becca Ann on occasion) is the author of a few hundred… okay, maybe not that many… books. Some of which became popular for their quirky titles, characters, and stories. She likes writing about nerds, geeks, the awkward, the fluffy, the short, the shy, the loud, the fun.

Since publishing her bestselling debut, Reasons I Fell for the Funny Fat Friend, she has published and sold books to Random House, Swoon Romance, and Spencer Hill Press. She has a favorite of all her book babies, but no, she won’t tell you what it is. (Mainly because it changes depending on the day.)

Along with writing, Cassie likes to binge watch Teen Wolf and The Big Bang Theory. She can quote Harry Potter lines quick as a whip. And she likes kissing her hubby, but only if his facial hair is trimmed. She also likes cheesecake to a very obsessive degree.

Where to Find Cassie Mae
Goodreads | Website | Facebook | Twitter

——————————————————–

Giveaway
a Rafflecopter giveaway

.