fbpx
Bad Romance A Stepbrother Novel by by Jen McLaughlin

Bad Romance A Stepbrother Novel by by Jen McLaughlin

4 out of 5 stars

Synopsis
In this explosive novel from New York Times bestselling author Jen McLaughlin, a good girl falls for the ultimate bad boy: her stepbrother. Perfect for fans of Sabrina Paige, Caitlin Daire, and Krista Lakes, Bad Romance proves that passion can be so wrong it’s right.

Seven years in the army will change a guy. But after a shoulder wound ends his career as a sniper, Jackson Worthington finds himself back home, fighting a battle that’s all too familiar: keeping his hands off Lily Hastings. She’s still her rich daddy’s little angel, innocent, impossibly lovely, as squeaky-clean as Jackson is dirty. And she’s still his stepsister—forbidden but not forgotten, not after the soul-melting kiss that got him kicked out of the house at eighteen. He couldn’t resist her then. How the hell can he resist her now?

Lily is about to marry a man she doesn’t love, and commit to a high-stress job she hates, all to please the father who controls every waking moment of her life. On top of everything, her teenage crush is back, with a sleek, chiseled body and a trace of the rebellious boy whose lips sealed her fate. Jackson’s timing couldn’t be worse . . . or better. Because Lily’s all grown up, too. She’s aching for another taste. And for the first time, she’s ready to be a bad girl.

———————————————————————–

My Review
Anyone who follows my reviews knows I love a good angsty forbidden romance, and what’s more forbidden than a stepbrother? Granted, they don’t meet until they’re teens and aren’t really raised as siblings, but there is still something salacious about it.

Jackson and Lilly are both messed up in very different ways. Jackson was abandoned by his father at a young age and he’s always felt like a burden to his mother. Lilly has been the apple of daddy’s eye her entire life, which he’s scripted for her. Everything from her career to whom she’ll marry is out of her control.

Jackson acts out, and an off-limits Lilly is the perfect act of defiance. Lilly always behaves the way she’s expected, never making her own choices, until Jackson. She wants him. The story is filled with lies, a few surprises, and intense emotions. 

Plot
It’s a straight-up story of forbidden love. With so many things keeping these two apart, it seems at times like they’ll be insurmountable. Although the reader knows Jackson and Lilly belong together, Jackson’s self-loathing and Lilly’s sense of duty at times make us question if they really do. The plot moves at a steady pace and there aren’t a lot of twists, but there are a few surprises that keep it from being just another contemporary romance.

Characters
Jackson and Lilly are well-developed, complex characters. Lilly experiences more growth through the story than Jackson, and I would have liked a little more from him. Their parents, on the other hand, seem a bit cliche at times, which works well for the plot. For a story light on characters, it would have been nice to find out more about why their abominable parents are the way they are, but that didn’t detract in any way from my enjoyment of the romance.

Ending
I thought the ending was almost anticlimactic. There’s a big event that leads up to the end that was unexpectedly awesome. I’m not disappointed, but I thought the actual ending lacked the same punch the climax held. I will say the conclusion was more than satisfying, though, and that’s all I can ask for.

What Didn’t Work for Me
1. Too much waffling.
 I found Lilly to annoying at times. I totally understood her motivation, but she seemed to waffle on it a lot. Like way more than necessary.
2. Repetition. There were times I felt like we revisited the same issues over and over again.

What I Enjoyed About Bad Romance
1. Loyalty.
 Jackson’s loyalty to his country, to Lilly. Lilly’s loyalty to Jackson, her father, the people who work for her father’s company. Both of them were good people which helped me overlook some of their annoyingness.
2. First loves. There’s a sweetness underlying the sexual chemistry of Jackson and Lilly that took their love story to another level for me.
3. Forbidden love. One of my favorite types of romances.
4. The angst. Another one of my favorite romantic elements.
5. Passion. There was so much passion between Jackson and Lilly it became almost its own character in the story.

Bottom Line
Bad Romance is a page-turning romance about forbidden love and learning to live your own life.

Disclaimer
I was provided with a copy of this book by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

——————————————————–

About the Book
Title: Bad Romance: A Stepbrother Novel
Author: Jen McLauchlin
Publisher: Loveswept
Release Date: September 15, 2015
Pages: 242
Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance
Rating: 4 out of 5 Stars
Links: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo

————————————————————

Author Jen McLaughlin

Author Jen McLaughlin

About the Author
Jen McLaughlin is the New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author of sexy books with Penguin Random House. Under her pen name, Diane Alberts, she is also a USA TODAY bestselling author of Contemporary Romance with Entangled Publishing. Her first release as Jen McLaughlin, Out of Line, hit the New York TimesUSA TODAY and Wall Street Journal lists. She was mentioned in Forbes alongside E. L. James as one of the breakout independent authors to dominate the bestselling lists. She is represented by Louise Fury at The Bent Agency.

Though she lives in the mountains, she really wishes she was surrounded by a hot, sunny beach with crystal-clear water. She lives in Northeast Pennsylvania with her four kids, a husband, a schnauzer mutt, and four cats. Her goal is to write so many well-crafted romance books that even a non-romance reader will know her name.

Where to Find Jen McLaughlin
Goodreads | Website | Facebook | Twitter
.