5 out of 5 stars

Daemon will do anything to get Katy back.

After the successful but disastrous raid on Mount Weather, he’s facing the impossible. Katy is gone. Taken. Everything becomes about finding her. Taking out anyone who stands in his way? Done. Burning down the whole world to save her? Gladly. Exposing his alien race to the world? With pleasure.

All Katy can do is survive.

Surrounded by enemies, the only way she can come out of this is to adapt. After all, there are sides of Daedalus that don’t seem entirely crazy, but the group’s goals are frightening and the truths they speak even more disturbing. Who are the real bad guys? Daedalus? Mankind? Or the Luxen?

Together, they can face anything. 

But the most dangerous foe has been there all along, and when the truths are exposed and the lies come crumbling down, which side will Daemon and Katy be standing on? 

And will they even be together?

My Review
This is my favorite book in the series by far, and I love the other books. We finally get to hear from Daemon for half the book as opposed to just a scene or two in as extras in the back. It’s great to get inside his alien head and really see what makes him tick.

Two things that really work in this book are the amped up emotion and the action. All of the emotions are heightened — the fear, love, anger, hatred — and the author brings the reader into the firestorm of feelings. JLA has taken the action to nuclear levels and doesn’t let up. About the only thing that I can say that isn’t over-the-top gushing praise is that Daemon and Katy sound a little too much alike at points. They use the same expressions when they think. But it’s not enough of a negative to offset all the wonderfully positive aspects.

The plot zips right from the first pages. This is a bit of a departure for the series. In the three previous books, things took a few chapters to really get rolling. But not this time. Daemon is hellbent on getting Katy back from the opening and anything or anyone who gets in his way risks annihilation. The story builds, adding more tension, emotion, and passion, until it peaks, but then it doesn’t stop. Book 4 leaves us hanging and waiting, less than patiently, for the fifth and final book due out in August, 2014.

The characters are the same we’ve come to know and love in the first three books, and again, they don’t stand still. Their emotional growth is building as they are thrown from one impossible situation into the next. We get to know a handful of new characters that play well off of the others and add to the plot development.

Bottom Line
This is the best book in the series so far. The raw emotion and the strong plot work well together to create a fun, fast-paced read that kept me turning the page.

Title: Origin
Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Pages: 400
Category: Young Adult Paranormal Romance
Rating: 5 out of 5 Stars
Links to PurchaseAmazonBarnes & Noble

Privacy Preference Center